Staatstheater Nürnberg


4th Phil­har­mo­nic Con­cert

with works by Cerha, Mayer and Tchaikovsky

Conductor: Roland Böer, Francesco Sergio Fundarò

Percussion: Christoph Sietzen

Friday, 17/02/2023

08.00 PM - 10.25 PM


07.15 PM Introduction (in German)


Abo K, Abo S5

4 Boeer c Barbara Aumüller

The 4th Philharmonic Concert opens with the rediscovery of a highly respected Berlin composer. Having had her music performed widely, Emilie Meyer slipped from public awareness after her death in 1883 and has only recently been reclaimed as a great exponent of Romantic music. Following on from his Kalevi Aho drum concert in 2019, Roland Böer conducts another important work for percussion, this time by Friedrich Cerha, the doyen of modern Austrian music. Tchaikovsky’s “Symphony in Four Scenes” was based on “Manfred”, the dramatic poem by Lord Byron. Manfred is troubled by gloomy thoughts and demonic spirits and is seeking enlightenment and redemption in the mountains of Switzerland.

Emilie Mayer: Ouvertüre zu Faust
Friedrich Cerha: Konzert für Schlagzeug und Orchester
Peter Tschaikowsky: Manfred-Symphonie op. 58

Photo © Barbara Aumüller

Dates and cast

Cast on 17/02/2023

Information on buying Tickets

Performance sold out on your desired date? Get on our waiting list and we’ll contact you if tickets become available for your chosen day! If ticket sales for your desired date have not yet opened, those on the waiting list will be at the head of the queue. Just tell us which production, date and seats you’re interested in (include alternatives if possible) and we’ll do our best to oblige. Here you can reach our ticket service.

> What's On

> Digitaler Fundus