Staatstheater Nürnberg
Home > What's On > HEAVEN AND HELL



3rd Philharmonic Concert with works by Luigi Boccherini, W.A. Mozart and Walter Braunfels

Dirigentin: Katharina Müllner

Klarinette: Shelly Ezra

Friday, 09/02/2024

08.00 PM - 10.10 PM


07.15 PM Introduction (in German)


Abo K, Abo O, Abo O1, Abo O2

Shelly-Ezra credit Irene-Zandel

Luigi Boccherini was arguably the leading symphonist of the pre-classical era. His portrayal of the “House of the Devil”, vigorous in nature yet contained and measured, is a refreshing jewel of symphonic 18th-century art. 20 years later, shortly before his death, Mozart penned a concerto devoted to one of his favourite instruments. For all its trademark Mozartian levity, this most famous of clarinet concertos has a melodious yearning quality to it. In the 1920s Walter Braunfels tackled the subject of Don Juan and his road to hell: in his “classical, romantic phantasmagoria” he came up with variations on themes from Mozart’s “Don Giovanni”, written for a full orchestra.

Luigi Boccherini: Symphony No. 4 in D minor, op. 12 “La casa del diavolo”
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet Concerto in A major, K 622
Walter Braunfels: Don Juan, op. 34

DIGITAL Introduction (in German)

Online introduction

Photo © Irène Zandel

Dates and cast

Cast on 09/02/2024

Information on buying Tickets

Performance sold out on your desired date? Get on our waiting list and we’ll contact you if tickets become available for your chosen day! If ticket sales for your desired date have not yet opened, those on the waiting list will be at the head of the queue. Just tell us which production, date and seats you’re interested in (include alternatives if possible) and we’ll do our best to oblige. Here you can reach our ticket service.

> What's On

> Digitaler Fundus